Mobilisatie-Oorlogskruis

The Mobilisatie-Oorlogskruis, a medal awarded by the Netherlands for military service during World War II.

 

THIS IS AN ANNOUNCEMENT FOR FAMILY MEMBERS OF K.N.I.L. SOLDIERS WHO DIED DURING WWII IN ASIA OR DURING THE BERSIAP PERIOD IN THE FORMER DUTCH EAST INDIES.

THEY MIGHT QUALIFY FOR THE MOBILISATIE-OORLOGSKRUIS MEDAL FROM THE DUTCH GOVERNMENT.

Lieutenant Colonel b.d. Jacq Z. Brijl of the Netherlands’ main focus nowadays is to ensure that the K.N.I.L soldiers who died during WWII in Asia OR died during the Bersiap are honored for their sacrifice. At the age of 90 years young, Mr. Brijl is on a quest to honor these soldiers with the Mobilisatie-Oorlogskruis (MOK)  from the Dutch Government and is willing to help the families of these KNIL soldiers obtain the medal.

Mr. Brijl, with the help of Ronny Geenen of California, have come up with a list of 82 fallen KNIL soldiers who qualify for the Mobilisatie-Oorlogskruis. They are seeking the families of these men.

Please review the list below.  1)  If you know of a family member of any of these men, please forward this article to them. 2)  If you find YOUR family member name among the 82 listed below, you can react in two ways:

  1. You can direct an email to the Department of the Ministry of Defense of the Netherlands, To the Attention of Mr. Ing. Bert Keers, Head of the Department. His e-mail address: b.keers.01@mindef.nl with the subject line, “Posthumous Award of the Mobilisatie-Oorlogskruis to *… add name and possibly the rank of…*

 

*For rank, date, and place of birth click on the link next to the soldier’s name on the list below.

  1. You can also direct an email request to Lieutenant Colonel b.d. Jacq Z. Brijl at bimbo.b@casema.nl with the same information in the Subject Line.
  1. Cornelis Adriaan van Driel: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/36001/cornelis-adriaan-van-driel
  2. Wilhelm Schwippert: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/138792/wilhelm-schwippert
  3. Leendert Christiaan Smitt: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/143296/leendert-christiaan-smitt
  4. Jozef Alphons Godding: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/50306/jozef-alfons-godding
  5. Jan Willem Bedding: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/7762/jan-willem-bedding
  6. Joseph F. Levy: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/93404/jf-levy
  7. Henri In ’t Veld: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/157890/henri-in-t-veld
  8. Alexander Lans: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/88451/alexander-lans
  9. Petrus Gerardus Johannes de Groot: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/54763/petrus-gerardus-johannes-de-groot
  10. Lambertus Hengeveld: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/61709/lambertus-hengeveld
  11. Gerrit Willem Idenburg: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/68396/gerrit-willem-idenburg
  12. Louis Eugène de Roy van Zuidewijn: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/131050/louis-eugene-de-roy-van-zuijdewijn
  13. Jan Lok: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/96194/jan-lok
  14. Jan Drenth: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/35770/jan-drenth
  15. Kasper Rozeboom: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/131090/kasper-rozeboom
  16. Jannes Slijkhuis: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/142492/jannes-slijkhuis
  17. Jan Wermelt Schipper: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/136546/jan-wermelt-schipper
  18. Simon Johannes van den Berg: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/10292/simon-johannes-van-den-berg
  19. Teunis Burger: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/23155/teunis-burger
  20. Tjalling Huizing: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/67727/tjalling-huizing
  21. Johannes Jacobus Hodselmans: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/64260/johannes-jacobus-hodselmans
  22. Sylvester Hendrikus Scheers: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/135560/sylvester-hendrikus-scheers
  23. Cornelis Maarten Kort: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/83638/cornelis-maarten-kort
  24. Heinrich Janssen: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/70740/heinrich-janssen
  25. Hubert Joseph Ernest Lienaerts: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/94247/hubert-joseph-ernest-lienaerts
  26. Arend Meijer: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/102953/arend-meijer
  27. Jan Jacobus van der Goot: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/51641/jan-jacobus-van-der-goot
  28. Cornelis Christiaan Paap: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/114059/cornelis-christiaan-paap
  29. Cornelis Bierenbroodspot: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/11926/cornelis-bierenbroodspot
  30. Gerrit Kappert: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/74826/gerrit-kappert
  31. Pieter Out: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/113767/pieter-out
  32. Gerard Beth: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/11303/gerard-beth
  33. Philippe Henri du Bois: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/16500/philippe-henri-du-bois
  34. Wouter Albertus Christiaan Geerling: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/47369/wouter-albertus-christiaan-geerling
  35. George Frederik Kommers: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/81655/george-frederik-kommers
  36. Arie Koomans: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/82391/arie-koomans
  37. Harcolinus Kreuger: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/85007/harcolinus-kreuger
  38. Petrus Wilhelmus Johannes Assendelft: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/4534/petrus-wilhelmus-johannes-assendelft
  39. Jan Baptist Henri Baeten: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/5421/jan-baptist-henri-baeten
  40. Johan Bannink: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/6229/johan-bannink
  41. Johannes Hendrikus van Beers: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/8655/johannes-hendrikus-van-beers
  42. Jan Willem van den Bergh: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/10580/jan-willem-van-den-bergh
  43. Arnold Ponsen: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/121101/arnold-ponsen
  44. Albert Melse: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/101573/albert-melse
  45. Marinus Johan van Diejen: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/33938/marinus-johan-van-diejen
  46. Petrus Wilhelmus Maria Wisman: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/172497/petrus-wilhelmus-maria-wisman
  47. Gerardus Boelen: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/15800/gerardus-boelen
  48. Jacobus Hofstra: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/65145/jacob-hofstra
  49. Gerardus Johannes Cornelis van de Laak: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/86967/gerardus-johannes-cornelis-van-de-laak
  50. Franciscus Bernardus Lievens: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/94559/franciscus-bernardus-lievens
  51. Koop van den Berg: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/10187/koop-van-den-berg
  52. Riekele Wijma: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/175549/riekele-wijma
  53. Folkert Stakenburg: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/146921/folkert-stakenburg
  54. Hendrik de Winter: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/172288/hendrik-de-winter
  55. Wijbe Wiersma: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/171191/wijbe-wiersma
  56. Dirk Barink: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/6693/dirk-barink
  57. Dick Harry van Deursen: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/33671/dick-harry-van-deursen
  58. Willem Pon: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/121073/willem-pon
  59. Adrianus Bons: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/17245/adrianus-bons
  60. Albert Bernard Schoemaker: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/136935/albert-bernard-schoemaker
  61. Antonius Gerardus Hendricus Dikschei: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/34218/antonius-gerardus-hendricus-dikschei
  62. Louis Charles Ernst Edward Lammerding: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/87622/louis-charles-ernst-edward-lammerding
  63. Bernardus Bastianus van der Leeuw: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/90453/bernardus-bastianus-van-der-leeuw
  64. Leendert Lens van Rhijn: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/91705/leendert-lens-van-rijn
  65. Gustaaf Pesch: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/116940/gustaaf-pesch
  66. Bertus Jorge Planjé: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/118522/bertus-jorge-planje
  67. Joos Willem Tijdeman: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/156200/joos-willem-tijdeman
  68. Thijs Strijker: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/150105/thijs-strijker
  69. Lambertus Gerardus Jorissen: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/73122/lambertus-gerardus-jorissen
  70. Caesar Engelbert Gillet: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/49453/ceasar-engelbert-gillet
  71. Jan Udema: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/156377/jan-udema
  72. Johannes Carolus Franciscus Heezius: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/60599/johannes-carolus-franciscus-heezius
  73. Petrus Johannes van Kuijk: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/86610/petrus-johannes-van-kuijk
  74. Berend Strik: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/149943/berend-strik
  75. Emgert Zondervan: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/177805/emgert-zondervan
  76. Wiilem Frans Huel: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/67387/willem-frans-huel
  77. Jozef de Wilde: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/171347/jozef-de-wilde
  78. Paul Marie Hubert Dauphin: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/32113/paul-marie-hubert-dauphin
  79. Nicolaas Christiaan van der Elst: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/39327/nicolaas-christiaan-van-der-elst
  80. Benjamin Hendrikus Jacobus Teunissen: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/153161/benjamin-hendrikus-jacobus-teunissen
  81. Adriaan THOMAS SCHEERS: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/153523/adriaan-thomas-scheers
  82. Cornelis Helmuth Wendeline Hesselman: https://oorlogsgravenstichting.nl/persoon/62711/cornelis-helmuth-wendeline-hesselman

6 Comments on “Mobilisatie-Oorlogskruis

  1. It seems that all these names are of soldiers born in the Netherlands. What about the many soldiers who died in WWII who were Indo like my father.
    They also fought alongside these soldiers?

    • Patricia,

      In respond to your question I ask Mr. Jacq Brijl how he would select the KNIL-victims and how he possibly try to detect the families.

      Dear Readers,

      About 10 years ago I regularly received letters and requests from relatives if I am able to help them to honor (posthumous) their grandfather/Father/ spouse/uncle/brother/nephew who had served in the Dutch KNIL army and died, executed, tortured during WWII. After consultation with and authorization from the Dutch Ministry of Defense, I decided to help these families. I never made a selection who will get an award.
      Based on battle reports, documentations, stories in newspapers, lists of victims, I discovered that our soldiers were listed as being ………killed, executed, drowned, and so on………, but that our Government had failed to reward these soldiers for their courageous actions with an honorable distinction.
      Because I thought that was a scandalous case, I decided to do something about it.
      Based on files, documentations, battle reports and victim lists I often managed to lay a hand on, I started to work to honor posthumously these deceased KNIL soldiers and gets these belated award in the hands of their relatives.

      I had, for example, a list of about 24 soldiers, who were killed by the Japanese in Tigaroengoe, Sumatra.
      Thanks to a call in the media and with the help of others, I succeeded finding most of the relatives.
      They were all posthumously awarded the Mobilization War Cross (MOK) for their deceased family member.
      On the basis of further investigations, being able to find several reports, etc. I finally could lay my hands on lists of the murdered victims of the European population in Balikpapan, Borneo.
      Some of the relatives have already received the MOK.
      On the basis of other findings, like documentations, list of names and reports of the areas like the Tjiater pass in West Java, Hainan, Ambon, to mention a few, I was able to help some relatives of their loves ones.
      I actually never select anything, but respond to the coincidentally data I receive or already have.
      And then try, with the help of the media and friends, to locate the relatives.
      Over the years I have helped about 240 families and in order to avoid misunderstandings, I would like to say, that I do this work unconditionally and with the permission of the Dutch Ministry of Defense.

      Luit. Col. b.d. Jacq Z Brijl

  2. I only know that Jacq Brijl want to help all the KNIL soldiers and their families.
    Mr. Jacq Brijl is doing this voluntary work as an old military person, because all soldiers and their family deserve this honor. They were forgotten by the Dutch government and he wants to correct that.
    He does not know all the names of the KNIL men, but he has a good relationship with the Ministry of Defense (Mindef). I did talk to several Indo’s here in California, like Charles Meyer (Indo). He told me how his father died as a KNIL soldier. I sent Jacq Brijl an email and he contacted Mindef. End of story a happy Charles Meyer. Over many years Jacq found many old KNIL names, but could not locate their family.
    He now decided to ask our help in the USA.
    That is my experience with him.

  3. Dear Patricia,
    Approximately 1/3 of the names listed are of men born in the Dutch East Indies. There are many, many Indos (Dutch Indonesian mix like your father) as well as Totoks (pure Dutch but born in the East Indies) that deserve this medal but since the Dutch Government does not take the initiative, it ultimately rests with the soldiers’ families to put in a request. Mr. Brijl has outlined how you can do that. I thank him for the time and resources he has volunteered to help the families. Without him, many families would not have known about this medal. Hopefully, you also will contact him to get your father the recognition he deserves.

  4. Is there an official MINDEF website where an application for this recognition of service medal can be obtained so as not to burden Mr Jacq Brijl?
    It is really commendable what this gentleman has done and continues to do at his age.
    As I am only just hearing about this medal and I live in Australia, I’d like to read and know more about who qualifies for this service medal…. …surely those who ‘survived’ their military service during WWII and Bersiap periods be it marine, airforce, or army also qualify?
    If there is an official website, which hopefully will have an English translation, I will be able to share the info in Australia to other descendants of military members who served in the Dutch East Indies during the war and ensuing conflict.

  5. The best thing you can do is contact the Defense Assistant to the Netherlands Embassy in Canberra; she or he is added to the Netherlands Defense Attaché. The Assistant there will assist you with all the needed information. And of course you will receive the written text in English.
    Jacq. Z. Brijl, luitenant- kolonel bd., BL. would therefore strongly advise you to contact, as soon as possible, the Defense Assistant. Hopefully the phone number at the Canberra office is + 61 488 248 622
    Bonnie, Mr. Jacq. Z. Brijl also wants to let you know that the head of the Dutch department that also handles the honorable decoration is Ing. Bert Keers and his e-mail is b.keers.01@mindef.nl
    I also like you to know my website https://MyIndoWorld.com. You will find there also stories in English and about a presentation of the MOK.

Leave a Reply to Ronny Geenen Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *